Healthy Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

Many of you know that I recently graduated and moved back home. It’s a very bittersweet time. I love San Diego, being near family, the beach, and the sunny days. But my college years were some of the best of my life and moving home means closing that chapter and moving from moments to memories.

I already find myself missing it in northern California a lot. I miss my friends, my sweet little apartment, the unique towns scattered all around, waiting for a day’s adventure to sweep in. I even miss my classes (*gasp*). But, as crazy as it sounds, I think what I’m missing most is the fall.

For four years, when October rolled around and the air got crisper, the weather wetter and the wind colder, I. Got. Cozy. It would be pouring rain and (because we didn’t know the heater in our apartment worked until about two months before move out) I would wrap myself in a warm blanket, make a cup of tea, light some apple-maple-scented candles, and read. Other days, I’d bake or make a Starbucks-esque pumpkin drink concoction. Once, I even cajoled my roommate into helping me throw a fall themed party, complete with cinnamon apple sangria, pumpkin bread, and obnoxious decorations gold balloons. I love fall that much.

IMG_4062

Outside, the trees were bursting with reds, oranges, and yellows, and once the leaves started falling, the scramble to my car became a blissful crunchy stroll. Pumpkin patches slowly popped up on the sides of the road. I gleefully switched my car’s CD to Bon Iver. The rain was relentless. And it was glorious.

 

IMG_4756

IMG_8175

So you can see why, as I sit here on a hot San Diego summer day, I’m nostalgic. And a little sad. Because, as my mom reminded me the other day, down here fall means Santa Anas and thicker flip flops. Poor me having to live in one of the best cities in the world, right? Pray for me! 😉

Well today I woke up and said, “You know what, sunny day? I’m not doing it!” So I made myself a smoothie.

Not just any smoothie–a PUMPKIN PIE SMOOTHIE. A HEALTHY pumpkin pie smoothie. And I said IN. YOUR. FACE. as I sat in the hot sun and sipped my cinnamon nutmeg pumpkin pie smoothie. And for about 3.5 seconds while I was slurping that thing up, I felt like I had a little piece of what I was missing. The warmth, the aroma, the bliss.

That is, until it melted.

pumpkin 3

Healthy Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

A taste of fall in Sonoma County.

Ingredients

•1/4 c nut milk (I used almond, but any kind will work)

•1 small-medium banana

•1/4 c pumpkin puree

•1/8 c oats

•1/2 tsp maple syrup

•1/8 t vanilla extract

•1/2 tsp flax seeds

•Pinch each of cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves

•3-4 ice cubes (optional)

Directions

  1. Put all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth.

pumpkin 2pumpkin 4

4 thoughts on “Healthy Pumpkin Pie Smoothie

  1. Looks refreshing and delicious! I’m only around the corner (sort of) should you need a taste tester.
    Welcome back, Sophie! Congrats on your new teaching job!

    Like

Leave a Reply

