Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream

Now before you start thinking that I forgot about you and have completely neglected this blog, let me tell you that you’ve actually been on my mind this whole time. In fact, I had this elaborate weekly meal plan post I was working on that was going to be so great and well planned until…I forgot to take pictures of the actual meals for the last half of the week. Let’s just say I haven’t quite gotten my, erm, sheit together. But keep an eye out for a version of that in the near future.

Instead, we’re going to start with something simple but delectable. There are two things that inspired this cocoa creation. For one thing, I had my wisdom teeth taken out yesterday and what better way to recover than by pouring over an ice cream churner and doing exactly the kind of things the dentist told me not to do? And second of all, as most of you reading this are very familiar with, my dad is the biggest ice cream fanatic you will ever meet in your life. And I mean that literally. So here’s to him. (Dad, my PayPal is all set up now, go ahead.)

As you’ve probably guessed by now, we’re making ice cream. Not just any ice cream, but a quick and easy, 6 ingredient coconut milk ice cream. Lezzz get to it!

The first thing you’ll need is an ice cream maker. If you don’t have one, well, you’re stupid outta luck. Just kidding. I know there’s a way to make it with a ziplock bag or something, but really who has the patience for that? We’re all rich and have an abundance of extra time so just go get yourself one. I’ll wait.

Once you have that, stick it in the freezer overnight and while you’re at it, soak a cup of cashews until morning too.

The other ingredients you’ll need are:

  • 1 cup of coconut milk
  • 1 cup of shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup of pure maple syrup
  • 3 tbsp raw cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp of vanilla extract

IMG_9306

Put all of these ingredients, including the soaked and drained cashews, into a blender or food processor and blend until smooth and creamy. It should look a little someth’n like this:

IMG_9307

Put the mixture in a bowl, cover, and chill for 30-60 minutes.

Now we’re ready to get mixing. Set up your brand new ice cream maker (or old one if you were already prepared) according to the directions. Pour in the chilled mixture and attach the blade and lid. Turn the handle clockwise three or four times every few minutes, continuing for 15-20 minutes.

And voilà! You have perfect chocolatey coconutty ice cream from scratch. You can eat it right then and there for a creamier texture or put it in a glass container and freeze to have a harder texture later. Being the pig I am, I couldn’t wait so my bowl is a little less “scoopy” than it could’ve been. I really like making up my own adjectives if you hadn’t noticed. If this blog thing doesn’t work out, maybe that will be my new venture.

 

Recipe
2 thoughts on “Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

