Deliciously Moist Banana Bread

What even is an original recipe anyway? How much inspiration can you take from other recipes until it becomes plagarism? For this next recipe, we don’t have to worry about that since I copied every ingredient and direction almost word for word, so we’ll go ahead and say I’m a copycat cook. One of these days I’ll make something up on my own, just you wait. But until then, think of me as Julia Powell tirelessly working in her kitchen to recreate the beloved Julia Child’s entire cookbook.

Since my last recipe post was so wildly popular, I decided I’d share another quick bread to satisfy all those loaf-hungry fans out there. Maybe I should call this blog “Loafs by Loaf”?

I’m a big fan of banana bread and I just so happened to have 5 overripe bananas sitting on my counter (I know I know, that’s how every banana bread recipe starts off…but it’s true!) so what better way to use them than by mashing them up, throwin’ em in a pan, and poppin’ it in the oven?! (If you prefer a less aggressive approach to making bread, follow the slightly more elegant directions below.)

First, here’s what you’ll need:

  • 3-5 ripe or overripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

P1030715

The first step is to mash all your bananas up in a medium large bowl. I just used a fork but if you have a potato masher or something more smashy, go ahead and use that.

P1030720

Add the melted butter to the bananas and combine.

P1030722

(Get used to these action shots, my friends. There’s a lot comin’.)

Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla.

P1030724P1030725P1030726

Once those ingredients are all friendly with each other, mix in the baking soda and salt. Now the party’s really getting heated up. We want to have a thicker consistency and everyone knows the way to do that is to bring in some flour and walnuts to stiffen things up.

P1030731 P1030732

P1030733

Now we’re talking. If you’re like me and like to break the rules, you can add in a dash of cinnamon at the last minute so you at least feel like it’s your recipe, even if it’s not.

P1030734 P1030737

Alright, now get a loaf pan all buttered up, pour in the mixture, and pop that baby straight in the oven at 350 degrees. 50 minutes later, pull the sucker out and you have a beautiful, perfect little loaf of your own.

P1030746 P1030756

When I say that this is moist, I mean it. None of that tedious microwaving and spreading the butter to give it a little softness; it’s ready to go as soon as you cut it. Now that’s what I call a party.


Ingredients

  • 3-5 ripe or overripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 1/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour

Directions

Preheat the oven to 350°F. In a medium large mixing bowl, mash the bananas until only small chunks are present. Mix butter into the mashed bananas. Mix in the sugar, egg, and vanilla. Sprinkle the baking soda and salt over the mixture and mix in. Add the flour and chopped walnuts last, mix. Pour mixture into a buttered 4×8 inch loaf pan. Bake for 45 minutes to an hour depending on your cookware. Remove from pan, cool on a rack and slice to serve.

Source

2 thoughts on “Deliciously Moist Banana Bread

  1. Hi again–just added this one to my Pinterest ‘Recipes’ board, too, so now you really owe me! Wondering if you want to add Pinterest under your “Share this” section? Again, love it and it’s fun to read your writing style. My only criticism is that I don’t like walnuts in my bread. However, that only slightly offended me so I won’t hold it against you. This time. Your friend and mine, Adele 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

